Farewell Sorrow

Released: April 2003
Label: Drag City/Rough Trade
Cat: DC240/RTRADE094
Format: LP/CD/MP3/FLAC

Track listing

  1. Farewell Sorrow
  2. Join Our Lusty Chorus
  3. Carousing
  4. I Went Hunting
  5. I Fell In Love
  6. Down Where The Willow Wands Weep
  7. When A Man's In Love He Feels No Cold
  8. Come, My Darling Polly
  9. The Whole House Is Singing
  10. I Walked Abroad In An Evil Hour
  11. I Am A Young Man
  12. Slowly Growing Old

Available to purchase and download from Drag City.

Recorded in Glasgow, November 2002 by Dave Paterson. Produced by Rian Murphy. Players: Tom Crossley, Gareth Eggie, Bill Lowman, Rian Murphy, Alasdair Roberts. All songs written by Alasdair Roberts. Join Our Lusty Chorus contains portions of the traditional Sussex hunting song Sportsmen, Arouse (or The Innocent Hare) as sung by the Copper Family of Rottingdean, Sussex. Carousing incorporates part of the melody for the traditional Bonny At Morn as played by Bob Fox and Stu Luckley. When A Man’s In Love He Feels No Cold takes its title line and part of its melody from the traditional Irish song of the same name as sung by Paddy Tunney.